Site moved to www.healthblawg.com, redirecting in 1 second...

48 posts categorized "Blawg Review"

November 05, 2013

The Final Blawg Review: RIP Ed.

Ed imgLast week, word spread through the blawgosphere that "Ed." -- the anonymous editor of the law blog carnival known as Blawg Review -- had died. I learned of his death via Bob Ambrogi's Law Sites. Bob reproduced the tweets posted by Ed.'s son to the @blawgreview twitter feed.

Ed. inspired many of us to take chances with our writing, to stretch a bit. He also helped develop a community of sorts that was different from any I had ever been a part of up until then: a community of interest that was not bound by space or time. I was drawn in and hosted five editions of Blawg Review over the years. (Here's Ed.'s introduction to my fourth: What is Hip?)

We had the opportunity to meet when Ed. was in Boston a few years back. (He never allowed his face to be photographed -- part of the whole anonymity thing, which he relished.)

Please take the time to read In Memoriam: A Final Blawg Review. It begins and ends at the Blawg Review site, and includes a circle of posts authored by some of the key hosts from throughout Blawg Review history.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

June 28, 2011

David Harlow Presents Social Media Session at American Health Lawyers Association Annual Meeting

I am speaking today at the American Health Lawyers Association annual meeting on the uses of social media by attorneys. I am sharing two versions of my slides from this session: one that is text-rich and full of useful links, and one that is much nicer to look at and more engaging for a live audience. Enjoy one or both, and let me know what you think in the comments.  If you are off-site, please tweet a shout-out to me @healthblawg tagged #AHLABoston a little after 3 p.m. ET, so we can show the folks in Boston the reach of Twitter, and let us know where you're tweeting from.

For those of you in Boston today – whether you're at the AHLA conference or not – we are having a tweetup after the social media sessions wrap up at 5:30 or so, at Brasserie Jo, a short walk from the conference hotel. Check out the details on the #AHLABostonTweetUP (and the social media sessions), and we hope to see many of the local health care digerati there. Please join us, whether you're a health care lawyer, whether you love 'em or hate 'em, or if you're involved in health care, health IT, health care social media or any related field of interest.

Follow the tweets from the annual meeting at #AHLABoston, and tweets from the tweetup at #AHLABoston or #AHLABostonTweetUP.  For an archived set of most of the tweets, see #AHLABoston on Cover It Live.

Hope to see you there.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

February 28, 2011

Vote for HealthBlawg! Read Blawg Review #300 and then join the battle ... on my side

"Ed.," the anonymous editor of Blawg Review, has posted his 2010 Blawg Review roundup, featuring each of last year's hosts of the long-running law blog carnival, as well as a recent post from each host's blawg.  He's soliciting nominations, votes, rants, diatribes and recommendations as the battle for Blawg Review of the Year 2010 begins.  I humbly submit for your consideration Blawg Review #268, the fifth edition hosted here on HealthBlawg, themed in honor of Flag Day (which just might be related to battles, in a way). 

I took the occasion of hosting the Flag Day Blawg Review to quote our predecessor at the bar, John Adams, who once said:  "In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm, and three or more is a congress." 

Well, to be honest, Adams never actually said that; his character did in 1776, the musical. 

I've had the opportunity to meet Ed., in, well, OK, a bar, and in a bar he will be revealing the results of the Blawg Review of the Year 2010 showdown.  Quoth he:

We're gonna need your help to choose which of those presentations will be named Blawg Review of the Year 2010. All this week, we'll be looking for feedback. By all means, blog about it, tweet about it [be sure to cc @blawgreview], or send private emails to ed @ blawgreview.com telling the editor who you think is most deserving of this honor. All such emails will be held in strictest confidence, if you like.

Blawg Review of the Year 2010 will be announced next Saturday, March 5th, at 7:00 pm Pacific time, live from Harry's Bar in San Francisco, where the Editor of Blawg Review and everyone who wants to attend can join us for a law blogger meetup. We will live-tweet the event, of course, and post the name of the Blawg Review of the Year 2010 as a final update to this post, as soon as it's announced.

Past winners have included Colin Samuels, Colin Samuels, Colin Samuels, Colin Samuels (OK, so he's obsessed with Dante; I get it; he eventually moved on to Coleridge, whose Rime of the Ancient Mariner was the subject of a footnote in the chapter of Moby-Dick I read last night -- really can't escape him) and Kevin Thompson.  (Kevin moved from the classics to a Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy themed "Towel Day" Blawg Review; my towel's in there, somewhere.  "So long, and thanks for all the fish!"  Reminds me of the albatross, Coleridge's Rime, and Colin Samuels again.  Hmph.)

So check out the nominees, and let Ed. know what you really think of HealthBlawg, despite its recent dearth of allusions to the epic poem and humor/science fiction genres of literature.  The HealthBlawger has other qualities, no?

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

June 14, 2010

Blawg Review #268

John Adams: "the man who at certain point...

"In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm, and three or more is a congress." -- John Adams*

Welcome to the Flag Day 2010 edition of Blawg Review, the weekly law blog carnival.  If you need to get your bearings, feel free to peruse previous HealthBlawg-hosted editions of Blawg Review: #88, #129, #154 and #211.

John Adams is a person of interest for this edition, because he made his home in Quincy, MA.

Quincy is a point of interest because not only did Adams give it to his son as a middle name, it also happens to be the home of the longest-running Flag Day parade and celebration in these United States.  (It was rained out this year, but check out the, um, boring video of last year's parade.)

Quincy is also the home of the granite quarries that produced the Bunker Hill Monument, and that lay empty and then full of rainwater for years, inviting foolhardy divers -- many of whom died -- until the quarries were filled with dirt dug up from the Big Dig ... but I digress.  The quarries also bring to mind The Quarrymen, but hey, that's probably grist for a whole 'nother post.

Flag_Day_Image_Resize Back to Quincy and John Adams.

One of Adams' notable achievements for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts -- setting aside his many achievements on behalf of the US of A -- was drafting its Constitution, a document which predates the US Constitution, and served as its model in many respects.  Dating from 1780, it is the world's oldest functioning constitution.

Given the recent doings of the Supremes, he may well be turning in his grave.  Before penning the Massachusetts constitution, Adams put some patriots' noses out of joint by representing the redcoats implicated in the Boston Massacre.  He had a strong belief in the right to counsel, a right (together with the right to avoid self-incrimination) that has recently taken a giant step backwards, courtesy of Justice Kennedy and, yes, Elena Kagan.  Check out Scott Greenfield's post on Berghuis v. Thompkins at Simple Justice, and the Huffington Post piece that explicates the role of "The Tenth Justice" in significantly rolling back Miranda protections in this case.  Once he got A Round Tuit at Infamy or Praise, Colin Samuels deftly compared the Court's logic to a couple of classic Monty Python sketches.

Adams once wrote, "National defense is one of the cardinal duties of a statesman."  We haven't heard of any 18th-century waterboarding incidents under the watchful eye of the Continental Army, or on Adams' watch.  They managed quite well without resorting to such tactics.  This week, though, word has come out alleging secret human subject research at the hands of the CIA.  More precisely, Steve Vladeck writes at PrawfsBlog, a report recently issued by Physicians for Human Rights calls for a US government investigation, because most of the information that could prove or disprove such an allegation is classified.  (Unlike another recently reported claim against the CIA, the human subject research issue is far from frivolous.) Adams would be concerned.  As he wrote, "a Constitution of Government once changed from Freedom, can never be restored. Liberty, once lost, is lost forever."

American-flag-china A great deal of virtual ink is spilled these days in examining the doings of Apple, Facebook and Twitter.  Brad Burnham, a VC at Union Square Ventures, writes this week that he finds it helpful to think of these global web platforms as governments, rather than ecosystems -- and they aren't democracies.  Adams found participation in democracy to be personally ruinous; upon accepting a seat in the Massachusetts legislature, he wrote to his wife Abigail the he had thereby "consented to my own ruin, to your ruin, and the ruin of our children. I give you this warning, that you may prepare your mind for your fate."  One would think he would despair at the rise of the global corporations that are, in effect, an oligarchy -- at least within certain spheres of influence.  (As I write this, my son is working on a school paper about Globalization: Promise or Peril.)

Over at Popehat, great gnashing of teeth is going on due to Rep. James ("Tex") Sensenbrenner's (R-WI) apparent conflict of interest in dealing with the BP oil spill.  Late in life, John Adams was also fed up with what he saw played out on the public stage:  "Public affairs go on pretty much as usual: perpetual chicanery and rather more personal abuse than there used to be... Our American Chivalry is the worst in the world. It has no Laws, no bounds, no definitions; it seems to be all a Caprice."  While back in the day Adams probably had more to say about tea than about coffee, I thought I'd share this cautionary tale about a BP coffee spill.

Some would prefer to see Tex muzzled on this issue.  And some physicians would like to see their patients muzzled.  New information on the innards of the Medical Justice approach to stifling negative feedback by patients on internet ratings sites (patient assigns copyright in comment to doc, so doc can send DMCA takedown notice to review site) motivated Evan Falchuck to add to the discussion on this practice at See First.

When patients are steamed due to a potential medical error, a clear-thinking physician or hospital administrator will initiate a medical apology.  In this context, as in others, the perceived sincerity of the apology is key.  On that front, Matt McCusker writes at Deliberations that BP and Toyota have a lot to learn ... from a baseball umpire.

While we're in the health care arena, let's visit a moment with Dr. Rob, who offers a practicing physician's view of the HITECH Act - that part of the Recovery Act that promises to inject tens of billions of dollars into the health IT economy for "meaningful use" of "certified" electronic health records systems - at his blog, Musings of a Distractible Mind.  He illustrates his issues with meaningful use by taking a look at the effects of the No Child Left Behind law.

Oh, and don't get sick or injured in July.  (Thanks to Alan Crede for that reminder.)

01t The TV show Glee, co-created by Evan Falchuk's brother, Brad, provides fodder for two posts on copyright law this week.  Check out Peter Black's post at Freedom to Differ, which considers and responds to Christina Mulligan's post at Balkinization: Copyright: The Elephant in the Middle of the Glee Club.  Writes Mulligan:

You might be tempted to assume that [the] tension [between intellectual property rights on the one hand and self-discovery through hommage and reinterpretation on the other] isn’t a big deal because copyright holders won’t go after creative kids or amateurs. But they do: In the 1990s, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) asked members of the American Camping Association, including Girl Scout troops,to pay royalties for singing copyrighted songs at camp. In 2004, the Beatles’ copyright holders tried to prevent the release of The Grey Album – a mash-up of Jay-Z’s Black Album and the Beatles’ White Album — and only gave up after massive civil disobedience resulted in the album’s widespread distribution.

Ah, the Beatles.  The Fab Four bring us back to Quincy, as an early incarnation of that fabled quartet was first let loose upon the world as ... the Quarrymen.

Keene Trial Consulting let us know that a court in Fresno, California is taking voire dire to a whole new level, where prospective jurors in a gang tattoo case involving a minor were recently asked if they have tattoos.  This case leads my musical memory down two divergent paths: It brings to mind Greg Allman's I'm No Angel ("Let me show you my tattoo") and also Kermit the Frog channeling a member of a performing quartet that predated the Quarrymen (Groucho Marx, for you young 'uns) singing Lydia, The Tattooed Lady (featuring, appropriately enough for Flag Day, the Stars and Stripes ... look for it.)

But is it art?  Brian Cuban handicaps a future 9th Circuit First Amendment appeal on zoning vs. tattoo. 

Also in the realm of voire dire, Bob Coffield points us to a West Virginia case where a juror's undisclosed MySpace friending of a defendant led to a reversal of a conviction.

US District Court Judge John Kane spoke at his law school class' 50th reunion about the broken social contract between young lawyers and many large law firms, but also managed to cite St. Francis, Buddha, Mohammed, Maimonides, Aristotle ("the only way to assure yourself happiness is to give happiness") and the CEO of The Onion.  Maxwell Kennerly offered his observations on the speech, which had been previously posted at Idealawg.

For the inside baseball post of the week, Norm Pattis pulls back the curtain on an IRL blawger get-together, and essentially concludes that, well, nostalgia isn't what it used to be, and then retreats behind metaphorical wax in the ears, resisting the siren song (squeal?) of a new cadre of blawgers.

KARA DELAHUNT/For The Patriot Ledger http://www.patriotledger.com/news/x2036715518/Flag-Day-is-a-banner-day-in-Quincy To end this edition on an uplifting note, I will leave you with John Adams' view on the coming decline and fall:  "Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet that did not commit suicide."  Nah, scratch that; better get a little more uplifting....  Adams wrote the following to Abigail, in 1780 -- something to think about on this Flag Day 2010:

I must study politics and war that my sons may have liberty to study mathematics and philosophy. My sons ought to study mathematics and philosophy, geography, natural history and naval architecture, navigation, commerce and agriculture, in order to give their children a right to study painting, poetry, music, architecture, statuary, tapestry, and porcelain.  

Blawg Review has information about next week's host, and instructions on how to get your blawg posts reviewed in upcoming issues.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

* Don't believe everything you read on the internet ....  The "useless man" quote at the top of this post was said, not by the historical John Adams, but by the character John Adams in the Broadway musical, 1776.  The other Adams quotes are courtesy of a variety of easily located online quotation sites.  And don't forget that Wednesday June 16th is Bloomsday.

June 10, 2010

Blog carnival trifecta

It's a Health Wonk Review week -- the latest, "killer," edition of the biweekly blog carnival for health wonks is up, courtesy of Tinker Ready at Boston Health News.  The weekly carnivals are worth a read, too, of course: the lawyers' Blawg Review at Spam Notes and the medbloggers'  Grand Rounds at MDiTV.

Tune in again next Monday, when Blawg Review returns to HealthBlawg - the home of hipness.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

October 15, 2009

Blog Carnivals this week

Please be sure to check out this week's editions of Blawg Review at Popehat, Grand Rounds at Survive the Journey and Health Wonk Review at InsureBlog.  Of special note, this week's edition of Grand Rounds is a participatory medicine edition, and announces the launch of the Journal of Participatory Medicine, which will happen formally at next week's Connected Health conference here in Boston.  Hope to see you all there.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting


October 01, 2009

Blog carnivals this week

Legally Unbound hosted Blawg Review this week.  I was fortunate enough to watch the sidewallks get rolled up on Beacon Hill with Blawg Review's anonymous editor, "Ed.," who was in Boston last weekend; he then hightailed it to Vegas to supervise Blawg Review #231.

Laika's MedLibLog hosted Grand Rounds this week.  Hard to believe GR is in its sixth year.

Health Wonk Review was ably hosted by Brady Augustine at MedicaidFirstAid; this edition featured a baseball theme, and HealthBlawg made it to the playoffs!

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

September 27, 2009

Blawg Review Bucket List Tour Hits Beantown

"Ed." -- the anonymous editor of Blawg Review -- is on the road again.


Criss-crossing the continent, Ed. has been popping up here and there.  Follow his peregrinations via @blawgreview on twitter and at Blawg Review


EdJayShepHealthBlawg1

Jay Shepherd (@jayshep), Chris Mirabile (@cmirabile) and I responded to Ed.'s last-minute tweetup call to "get gruntled" last night (a wry reference to Jay's blog) at a Beacon Hill watering hole.  (Ironically, or perhaps by design, we did not meet at the more famous watering hole nearby, "where everybody knows your name.")  Waitstaff in what I can only describe as post-modern attire, and a bachelorette party further back in the bar, did not distract us from engaging in a close examination of the state of the blawgosphere, and the nature of being anonymous, with Ed.  (He introduced himself: "Hi, I'm Ed."  Really.)  Check out the photographic evidence -- that's Jay and me bellying up to the bar with Ed.

Despite Ed.'s invitation to get "way gruntled," the libations, the oddly-attired denizens of the watering hole, and a host of other factors, we managed to part ways at evening's end each under his own power, and without my having to add any transgressions to the bucket list du jour: misdeeds to repent for as we approach Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, which begins at sundown tonight.

May you all be sealed in the Book of Life.  Ed., I really don't know how that works for the anonymous among us.  Good luck.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

July 24, 2009

Blog Carnivals: Lawyers, Medbloggers and Health Wonks (Oh My)

Just catching up on the week's blog carnivals ....

Blawg Review #221 at The Complex Litigator begins with an exposition on Guy Fawkes Night, and takes us on a tour of the blawgosphere, touching on imagined Senate confirmation hearing testimony from Yoda, hamsters, and class actions.

This week's host of Grand Rounds, Doc Gurley, presents the Mystery! edition, and the HealthBlawger appears in Act Three - The Law Gets Involved; no mystery there.

And speaking of carnivals, Paul Testa at the New Health Dialogue Blog has found his calling as a carnival barker and asks us all to step right up and "wander through a spectacle that's as uniquely American as apple pie and health reform."  That can mean only one thing, dear reader: Health Wonk Review.

Try not too eat too much cotton candy.

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting

June 15, 2009

Carnivalia at the intersection of law and medicine

Blawg Review is up at Family Lore, across the pond.  Grand Rounds is up at ACP Internist.  Enjoy!

David Harlow
The Harlow Group LLC
Health Care Law and Consulting